Poets logo

After the Parade of Life

I had a life But did not live it

By Pam ReederPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
8
After the Parade of Life
Photo by Rhodi Lopez on Unsplash

It's over now.

The parade of life

Is at an end

So far away

From where it begins

****

I made sure to be

Whatever was needed

All around me.

To make certain

People always kindly see me

****

But my body lieing here

In state for last visit

I listen to them all

And wonder who is it?

****

Of whom do they speak?

I can see

I knew everyone

But in listening to them

They didn't know me.

****

I'm scattered across the room

In numerous faces

I touched their lives

In all the right places

****

They loved me

But they never knew ME

****

They only knew the part

I gave them

Carefully curated

From the me within.

****

I was all things

To all people

But what were

They for me?

****

Just the person

To call

When the part of me

I gave them was needed

That's all.

****

I was a fixer

Of all things broken

I did all the right things

The right words spoken.

And of all the lives I might have helped

I never helped me

Here I lie still broken.

****

I never tended me.

I never had that second or third child.

I never had that vacation abroad

Never took that photography class

Didn't learn a second language

Didn't eat the foods I yearned for

Didn't share my secrets, hopes or desires

Didn't let my dreamer dream

****

And here I lie with my life over

No one knows the me inside

The part left deep down to hide

Because there was no one to curate those parts to

Not even to myself.

****

Now those parts weep in darkness

In this husk that will turn to dust

My soul to spread back out to

The ether.

****

I had a life, tis true

But I realize only now

Not one drop of it

was ever lived for me.....

It was only lived for all of you

****

And already as you mingle here

You're mending the hole

In your lives my dieing makes

To slot in the next person

from whom you can take.

****

Yes, I had a life

But I never lived it

All I did was always give it

To accomplish all of your wants, hopes and dreams

While my own were abandoned and neglected, left to die with me

****

Now I am gone

And your lives move on.

****

sad poetry
8

About the Creator

Pam Reeder

Stifled wordsmith re-embracing my creativity. I like to write stories that tap into raw human emotions.

Author of "Bristow Spirits on Route 66", magazine articles, four books under a pen name, technical writing, stories for my grandkids.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    Wow, this was just so deep on so many levels! Definitely evokes emotions. Love this poem so much!

  • Linda Rivenbark2 years ago

    This one definitely taps into raw human emotion, Pam! It makes me want to take steps to make sure no one I know and love or share friendship with would have cause to feel they were only someone to call when help is needed. A good reminder to show love and give to everyone in our lives. Well-written poem.

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    This poem is certainly sad, but I also find it to be inspirational. If we are not dead yet there is still time to do at least some of things we’ve always wanted to do. The time to action is before it is too late.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Reflective!!!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Thought provoking and heartfelt. Very well done.

  • I am sending hugs and support for you on this Pam,, giving so much and sometimes getting so little in return , Wonderful words though.

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    So heartfelt :) Thank you for sharing

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.