Poets logo

‘After it’

A poem

By Jose ArriagaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Photo of my beautiful girlfriend, my home. Taken by me

Sweat

Pouring down

On my split fa ce

I almost forgot the why, the reason for toiling in hot sand

Rusty nails splitting fingers, tainted blood

Biting sun resting, gnawing on tense shoulders

The weight of the world is a growing boulder

time doesn’t exist but I still grow older

bruising on my right thigh feels so right, so good

at least the man is still alive and thinking

don’t forget you’re not alone, there are wandering eyes

Expecting spirits expecting much too much

For me anyways, just how much do I matter?

A spec of dust or a trove of memories?

A fleeting maniac or a cherished friend?

Suicidal idolization of the void beyond

It’s where the happiness lies and the truth doesn’t hurt

It’s where I won’t get hurt, so trivial it doesn’t matter

But I remember it now

The why

The peeling of burned shoulders

Bones crushing under more boulders

Solemnly slipping in scorching sand

Bruises turn purple and tender

I find solace growing older with you

You’re why

love poems
1

About the Creator

Jose Arriaga

Poet and filmmaker. I love to craft stories that capture the beauty and absurdity of every day life.

<3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.