Poets logo

After All These Years

My love song to God

By jasmine knapperPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
After All These Years
Photo by Dex Ezekiel on Unsplash

You know what?

I’m still chasing after You

Because I still adore You

I’m still running after You

After all these years.

You’d think I’d forget about You

Because the world taught me that nothing

lasts forever

and maybe once upon a time

I would have been alright with that

but you gave me a new thing

When You called me

And made me Yours

Through the blood

of Your precious son,

Jesus Christ

It's like a song in my head

that I can’t forget

That starts deep within my chest

and all the way up to my spine

and down below to my feet.

This new musical melody

won't leave me be.

I’m glad that I listened to this new beat.

All these years of listening

Praying

Searching

Trying to find any sort of way

to pray deeply to you

until I recognized that in order to fall

I need to break first.

If all these years taught me anything

Is that falling in love is easy

but staying in love is hard.

Even so…

After all these years

twists and turns

I’m still running after You

with both eyes open this time.

Being introspective

was never an easy thing for me

but the more time I spend with you

the more time I allowed myself

to go there

to dig deep within myself

To find that special thing

that others say that I have

I know has been there all along

so runnings never been the hard part

but keeping up the pace.

Even so…

You’re worth it, God.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

jasmine knapper

I am a 26 year old with an eternal love of writing, reading, and God. I am a college graduate and am looking to push myself to write on a continuous basis so I can become a published author.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.