Poets logo

Advice.

how do i live?

By Alex BarbuPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Advice.

Now let me tell you something, stranger.

You’re a fool if you aren’t afraid of danger.

Sure, I mean, there’s the “Thrill of It All”

But is it all worth it when it makes you crawl

Down on the floor that’s covered in dirt,

Covered in blood, and staining your shirt,

Covered in tears, in this curious art

And all leading to your own broken heart?

Is it alright to be dragged on the ground,

Willingly knowing that you are hell bound

Destined to fail, and fall in despair

Losing your mind and losing your hair?

Have you considered that maybe all this

Is really a curse that’s covered in bliss,

Covered in glitter, and laughter, and joy

But really disguised, and used to destroy?

All this being said, something’s left unspoken:

Don’t be afraid to get your heart broken.

Get out there and try! Fail and try again!

Because in your life you’ll feel joy and pain.

And sure, it is only fools that aren’t scared

Of the great danger that lies up ahead,

But a fool knows how to live life for the best-

Maybe not the longest, God help them to rest.

But don’t be afraid to try something new!

Go and have fun! Do things out of the blue!

Because sure, fools, sometimes they die young.

And I know of a dead fool who sung:

“One for the laughter, two for the joy,

Taking a shot for the poor altar boy,

Three for the tears, and four for the pain,

And may we live to see our Lord’s stars again!”

That fool is me, and although I’m not dead,

There’s something that you need to get through your head.

My life may be pointless to some, but to me

It is all that I am and it’s all that I’ll be.

My t-shirt is ripped and covered in blood,

In puddles of sweat and in puddles of mud,

But yet here I go down that path again

Ready to flush away all of my pain.

art
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.