Poets logo

ADHD

All is well

By MDPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Photo by Tara Winstead: https://www.pexels.com/photo/an-illustration-of-a-person-s-mind-8378740/

Wake up

Today’s the day

Gonna fix it all, gonna be okay

Feet touch the floor, and I start to pray

Lord, I can do this if you make my mind stay

Focused

Gotta get things done

Not a lot of hours till the fall of the sun

Got a list to do, and it don’t look fun

Better take a breath, get a grip, step one

Uh oh

An hour passed

Guess my focus didn’t really last

Ever get haunted by the things in the past

Capture the brain in a curious cast

Haunted

Imagination

Mind’s in need of a thought vacation

Try to make plans, but my preparation

Quickly dissolves into raw frustration

Stupid

Is how I feel

I am an adult, but I cannot deal

Got a lot of wounds that I just can’t heal

Is this my life? Because it don’t seem real

Broken

But I still try

Keep on digging till I unearth why

Every repetition, watch my follow-through die

A thousand good intentions pave the pathway I

Wander

Attention lost

Too many brainwaves just got crossed

Mind sits defenseless as my thoughts accost

Overload the senses till my head exhausts

Hopeless

Or so it seems

I am the killer of my greatest dreams

Every interaction falling to extremes

Try to find quiet, but the silence screams

Surrender

Or go insane

Lack of any cut, but I still feel pain

Pray that today I control my brain

Think I’m getting closer, but I can’t maintain

Weary

Inside my head

Day is done; time to go to bed

Had a lot of plans but the chances bled

Wanted to accomplish but I guess instead

Floated

Space cadet

Hard to keep track of all I forget

Working all day only earned regret

Caught my attention, but it slipped the net

Vanity

Chaff in the wind

Put on a smile as I pretend

All of my means could result in an end

Said I could do it, I will not rescind

Important

To shift my view

Can’t get caught in what is not true

Might lose sight, but I keep value

I am so much more than what I fail to do

Distracted

That’s just a part

My whole life is a work of art

More than a label that is just a start

Want to know me? Gotta learn my heart

...

If you love it give me a like and share it with love!!

inspirational

About the Creator

MD

I am a poet and writer, entwined in passionate embrace with souls of poets, penning love letters to their words.

If you love my poets give a like, leave comments and share them with love. Don't forget to subscribe to my profile.

Thank you!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    MDWritten by MD

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.