Poets logo

Acidity

What I carry

By Susan LeePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Portrait of a toxic oil spill

You are a duplicitous being -

one day, I will make you get on your knees

to beg for my mercy,

only to have me spit on your name

and stab you in your heart with the dagger of my words;

you're not a God,

you are a mere mortal,

not above any laws

as you wish to be.

One day, the heavens will reveal

what you did,

the sin you waged on my body,

the stain you inflicted,

the toxic legacy you left behind,

and you will return to the grave

as dust,

except then you will have no one, and you will NOT have me

condoning you for your sins,

only because of this damned patriarchy.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Susan Lee

I graduated from Stanford University in 2002 with a BA in International Relations and a minor in Psychology and have a Masters in International Affairs from Georgetown University.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.