Poets logo

You're NOT whom I love

Love is not presumptuous

By Susan LeePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Portrait of lies

Love is not to make

presumptions.

Your "Love" is so

presumptuous.

It is all about you.

You're a narcissist.

You think you know me,

but you hardly know me.

I've been more than patient

with you, your nonsensical,

patriarchal ways.

I thought you were Love,

but you're a version of Love

that is so chameleon

and aspartame,

Duplicitous.

Thank you for showing me as you really are -

a cold-hearted man of stone,

a homme without a conscience.

Your lack of morality is

nauseating.

Aren't you a twisted man

who will reckon with justice and with the

wrath of a million allies

one day.

I don't even give you the benefit

of the doubt -

I can't believe I used to idolize you -

that mirage has turned to rubbles.

They say that toxic people

invite disaster and you're

precisely this.

You are a phantomine in my head.

Perhaps you only love yourself.

You're like a grime that

I can't rub off -

you don't deserve me.

They say that when one

person treats another

person horribly, they are

capable of inflicting

the same harm onto another.

You are a jack-ass whisperer...

You are a bad sign from the Universe,

a flock of crow heralding

the arrival of a bad guy,

disrupting my quiet Life.

You are so full of it.

I sit on a bed of stars

while you wade in muck.

You are a walking weapon,

and you cause harm

to others because

you think you're so

safe, God's gift.

But I know what Love feels like.

I feel love from

the spring air,

from the taste of cotton candy,

from the daffodils,

from the canopy

of cherry-blossom trees,

I feel love from Alexander Dimitrov's

poems,

from his lines about NYC.

I feel love from

my favorite songs,

my favorite writers, (e.g.)

Toni Morrison,

Maya Angelou,

etc.,

my favorite writings,

my favorite moments

of silliness.

I feel love and strength

from all the female allies and warriors

who have gone before me,

trodden this tough path.

You can NEVER reduce me

because you don't know me.

I am Love.

You are held.

You are held.

You are held.

You are Loved.

You are Loved.

You are Loved.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Susan Lee

I graduated from Stanford University in 2002 with a BA in International Relations and a minor in Psychology and have a Masters in International Affairs from Georgetown University.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.