Poets logo

achromatic

I am not

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read

I

Am

Not.

I feel colorless

sometimes.

I am not

a magical thing, or

a work of art for you to gawk at,

I won't mask up, I won't color up my gray---

no, my achromatic feelings for you

they are here, they are

drained already,

and when I finally can do something (that makes me feel

fulfilled)

to show a little

bit of something

like a different little hue,

then I might be

inclined to show you the side of me

I only show to my mirror

the achromatic

light

and dark

shadows I drown in

and also live in.

Achromatic; living without color

does not mean you have no

brilliance

but it does suggest

a life lived listlessly

but mine isn't---it is lived

passionately

through my colorless days

and my dream filled ones,

a labyrinth

of memories and nightmares,

fresh pains and old tears,

I am not

just those things

But I am everything,

something without shadow and sound and

without fear---

I am not

i am

not

a piece of work

or art

for you to gawk at

I am pages in different books

black&white too,

with tiny illustrations of moths

and canaries

and sunflowers

But I am not

for you

to gawk at

achromatic

or colorful.

art

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Melissa IngoldsbyWritten by Melissa Ingoldsby

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.