Poets logo

Black Rainbow

The Spectrum I sustain myself in

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Black Rainbow
Photo by Ussama Azam on Unsplash

I was born first in loamy soil: dark pitch black mixed with sandy peach and browns; I was completely drenched in life.

Uneasy with the sun drenched creations it bore, I sunk into the deeper reaches of the earth to find the hue that matched my vibration, and the grays,

And the blush, currant, burgundy reds that covered my

Blossoming form

did not suit me either, merely it gave me guts,

the Red gave me

Guts.

I surfaced to green,

jade and indigo,

and I resolved to find inner peace,

but I could not yet find that hue.

I sought out to have the sky as black as I had always wanted, like

Space,

with Silver piercing throughout,

and Black rainbows with vibrant

leaking hues----

and whenever it would be daylight-- it would be

Ivory White, pure white

and the social anxiety

I feel everyday, but hide with my bright purple garb and questioning

smile that I turn into a Mickey Mouse grin----

would be felt by everyone for a day and a night,

But only for 24 colors,

because after that,

it would be too long

and I wouldn't wish that on anyone.

If everyone could see the spectrum I sustain

myself in,

would they reject me?

Would they turn their noses up

looking my the pitch black brightness I have chosen

for my life?

Would they find me boring and bleak?

All I can do is continue to

be my

own

Organically-grown loamy

weird

disjointed, quirky

Black, purple mess---

But I love my colors,

and I love me.

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Melissa IngoldsbyWritten by Melissa Ingoldsby

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.