Poets logo

Accepting Fate

A Free Verse Poem

By Moses BanfordPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Accepting Fate
Photo by Emiliano Bar on Unsplash

My body floated down the prison halls. My uniform was as smooth as my hair was ruff. The air in my lungs like fire, and the chains latched to my wrist like ice.

Flowing down to my library of thought, I locked myself in and refused to come out. Every tug from the guard pulled a new memory from the shelves. My mother’s dying wish, my father’s final farewell, my wife’s departing embrace, and my child's last goodbye.

I drifted into the room, the last room I would ever see. Its smell was of rot, and its essence of the grave. The chains were loosed, I was soon to be released.

Strapped to the slab, the gates below opened wide, ready to receive my soul. Thin and twisty, the tubes were forcefully and agonizingly embedded into my veins. The poison raced down the clear plastic tubes, eager to annihilate my defenses. My blood desperately fought against its foe, however the toxin was too vicious, and they were defeated and destroyed.

My eyes glazed over, my spirit began to detach from the flesh. The machines wired, the demons cheered, my grip on reality began to disappear.

Infiltrated, my heart began to slow, my mind began to cloud, my spirit finished it’s departure. My soul slipped downwards, falling through the fire, falling past the devils, falling into damnation and willingly, painfully, sorrowfully, accepting my fate.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Moses Banford

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.