Poets logo

Absence of You

Poem

By Rilee AreyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Absence of You
Photo by Akshar Dave🌻 on Unsplash

Of course, I miss the absence of you,

You were the consumptions of most of my thoughts,

Individually I know who I am,

But without me feeling the obligation of you,

My day on my own feels lost,

And that is what I need,

I need the ability to be free

From the mental obligation of our relationship,

Where I am the variable and you are not the dependent,

I need to feel like my own person outside of us,

Outside of you,

You are all consuming,

With your constant presuming,

Of the things I say,

You take so much the wrong way,

And you wear me out,

The source of most of my doubt,

Stems from your reactions,

From our daily infractions with each other,

So of course, I feel the lack of your mental hover,

Because my days are no longer dependent on you,

My body may feel the absence of something it grew to knew,

That doesn’t change for me what is true,

Even if I miss the presence of you,

There’s no way to go back, just push though!

heartbreak

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

I am a professional life romantizer, with a heart that feels everything deeply. I am a moment collector through words and the ways around us.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Rilee AreyWritten by Rilee Arey

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.