Poets logo

About A Girl

By A.N. WaltsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
About A Girl
Photo by Lesly Juarez on Unsplash

A single smile in my direction

and the words

“it’s because you’re pretty”

and I’m hooked

hooked like a caught fish

stuck with my mouth gaping

arms flailing

eyes wide

my mouth,

unable to form words

face blossoming into a tomato,

I flee.

Pounding in my chest

my face numb,

and then

a flash of a smile

behind clenched eyes

Breathe in.

Breathe out.

This overwhelming feeling,

panic,

has my feet rooted in place,

my hand gripping my chest.

It’s too much.

I can’t feel this way,

not about you.

Not about a girl.

But fuck,

that smile won’t leave me alone.

Days pass,

and I dream

about holding you in my arms,

and waking up to that beautiful smile

I can picture us easily,

Hands clasped by the water,

kissing under the blanket of stars

smiles hidden behind inside jokes

We feel effortless.

A bucket of ice water

is dumped on my thoughts,

and the image reel

comes to a halt

There is fear

of losing my family,

of losing my friends.

Is that worse

than losing you?

But then I remember,

that smile on our first day,

the smile that took my breath,

and brought a blush to my cheeks

and set a million butterflies free throughout my body

And I know then,

there are a lot of things

I can live without

but your smile

is not one of them.

love poems
1

About the Creator

A.N. Walts

Server by day, storyteller by night. Lover of witty jokes and fast-paced dialogue. My hope is that when you read my stories, you feel compelled to share your own.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.