Poets logo

Abecedarian Haiku/Senryū Madness

A Poetic Challenge!

By Paul StewartPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
14
Image Taken From Pexels, Edited by Me in Canva Pro

A challenge was set

An abecedarian

A senryu every verse

*

But will I conclude

By using every letter

Bright idealism

*

Chaos in my mind

Can I remember any words

Clear mind, empty head

*

Did I really want this?

Dangerous attempts to dive

Down the alphabet

*

Ever wondered why people

Enthusiastically

Evade the stress of this

*

Fishing for funnies

Flexing the English language

Finding the best route

*

Gliding a to b

Getting flustered, going mad

Great, G is covered

*

Here comes H to help

Hope is driving me forward

Hesitant? Not yet

*

In a minute though?

It remains to be seen now

I will let you know

*

Just when I felt calm

J comes along to jolt me

Just can’t catch a break

*

Kick to my head means

Kaleidoscopic colours

Knock me out for six

*

Lying on my back

Looking at clusters of clouds

Looming, full of water

*

Maybe I will remain

Maybe I should find shelter

My head feels the drips

*

No time to move now

Not to worry, drenching helps clean

Nasty stains and dirt away

*

Oh, if it was that easy

Only if I could clean me

Outside and inside

*

Perhaps I can, if

Pitter patters turn to storms

Power washing me

*

Quite the image, Paul

Quality surrealism

Quickly move on, Paul

*

Really no way out

R is so close to the end

Ramp it up, Paul

*

Success is in sight

Should, you call it a success?

Seriously? No

*

This has been a test

To have a try, and not fret

That it might not work

*

Until I reach Z

Unfortunately, I’ll go

Until letter Z

*

Vile and violent

Viciously bastardising the

Very language I love

*

We’re on fourth to last

While I’m wondering if this

Was even a good plan

*

Xenacious, I am

Xyresic though this has been

Xanthic sunrise nears

*

You’ll be glad to know

Y means this here madness

Yes, it’s nearly done

*

Zealously zapping

Zigzagging to the finish

Zephyr takes me off

**********************

Okay, I have a lot of ideas in my head a lot of the time. Some of them amazing, some of them okay, and some of them terrible. The problem is, that sometimes when I take an idea and run with it - I need to see it through to its conclusion.

So, above you will see the fruits of my madness - approximately a Abecedarian poem with a separate haiku/senryū for each letter.

Make of it what you will. It was an experiment.

Thank you, though, for taking the time to read my craziness. I would appreciate if you left a comment, or hearted this piece, particularly if you liked it. All interactions are appreciated and encouraged.

You can also subscribe to keep up to date with my latest work.

If you would like to see something a bit more straightforward, then you may like see most recent pieces:

You can also find the rest of my work here.

nature poetrysurreal poetryperformance poetrylistinspirational
14

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    This is epically impressive. Great job! 😁

  • Poppy 6 months ago

    This is awesome! Love your ideas

  • Sandra Tena Coleabout a year ago

    Brilliant!!! I laughed and loved it muchly!❣️

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Whoa, when did we get an Alphabetical Haiku. I vote this idea for the next one. This was great.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Wow! Wonderful job here! My jaw was dropping at those fabulous "X" words. Amazing job!!

  • Colleen Millsteed about a year ago

    Wow this is seriously creative. Well done Paul — Haiku King lol

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    What a hoot! Great job 👏

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Insanely successful, and challenging! Looks like fun, though!

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Good job. You put a lot of effort into this and it paid off.

  • Whoaaaaa! You blew my mind with this combo! Wow I'm super impressed with the way you come up with these ideas and execute them so well! Bravo!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    That was a lot of creative, clever fun!! You're going to start speaking in haiku/senryo soon, lol. Really great work :)

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Haha. Good one.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.