Poets logo

Abandoned

A Poem

By Alyssa HornPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

*I always wondered why my mother had walked out of my life. I always swore that I would give her the third degree about it (so to speak) when I would eventually meet her. Because growing up I figured that someday I would see her again. Whether it would be standing over her grave or face to face. Truthfully I never knew back then whether she was dead or alive. And now that I have met her part of me wishes that I haven’t and no she never did answer. I still don’t have the answer as too why she left me. All I know is that in life sometimes things happen that we aren’t responsible for.*

"I wake up every morning to a sky so blue

And wonder, what did I do?

I sit in my classroom only to daydream about you.

Wondering, what did I do?

I often question, Could this be true?

Still, I wonder, what did I do?

Why aren't you around to take me to the zoo?

Don't you want to go there, too?

Am I not good enough for you?

I can barely sleep because of what you've put me through.

So please tell me, Mama, what did I do?

How about I tell you a thing or two?

Because these words are long overdue.

You might have bitten off more than you can chew.

Three girls without a mother because you don't know what to do!

You'll be the sad one not knowing how I grew

Or what I will amount to.

So here's your chance.

What will you do?

It's time for a breakthrough.

Do you wish for a redo?

Do you love me enough to?

I hope you understand my point of view

And finally ask yourself, "what did I do?"

(I hope you guys like this! I am currently raising money for a charity that works with foster kids. As far as getting them tutors, the proper healthcare. So far I have raised hundreds of dollars for this cause. They are children that need someone to look up to. If anyone would like to donate then please do so. Any money I raise from this site goes directly to this charity. Thanks.)

"I just keep looking through borrowed eyes"

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Alyssa Horn

I am a broke college student that is pretty much alone in the world. I'm working on my bachelor's in psychology and then I am going to start my Master's as well as a degree in anthropology. plus I love to write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.