Poets logo

Abandon

The Questions I Wish I Could Ask You

By Lucy SammonsPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Since you left I walk in a grey gloom

Mist surrounds me, black clouds loom

Every step I take reminds me

Of your promises to me.

I can’t face this on my own

I can’t face losing you

Without you to turn to.

Tonight I’ll walk through the dark unknown

The whole world sleeps and I’m alone

If only you wouldn’t disappear

If only you would be here.

I can’t face this on my own

I can’t face life after you

Without you to turn to.

How does it make you feel?

To break all of your promises?

Or is that why it hurts so much?

Am I carrying the pain for two?

You left me nothing when you left

Not even the softest goodbye

Not one tear in your eye.

You left me nothing when you left

Just twice as much pain as I can bear

An empty aching pain that you refuse to share.

I put my trust in you, my hopes and dreams

You were my lifeline, my gravity

And now you’re gone and I’m both sinking and floating away.

Maybe I’m naive

But I don’t think that’s the word for me

People abandon people this I always knew

But I believed in you.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.