Poets logo

Sweet Roughness

A Love Poem. A Heartbreak Poem. A Goodbye Poem.

By Lucy SammonsPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

You kissed my forehead when you said goodbye

Rough

Like your face when you're trying not to cry

Quick

Like the first tear that slips from my eye.

I couldn't see your face through my tears

A blur

Couldn't know this was the end of our years

As one

I couldn't know you will never be here

Again.

And as I'm on the plane away from you

All I can feel is your kiss

Rough and quick

But the softest, sweetest, slowest thing I ever knew.

You hold my hand in the back of the car

Gentle

I fall asleep with you in my arms

Slow

Like the sunrise brings the setting of stars.

And as I'm far too far away from you

All I can feel is the hurt of you leaving

Gentle and slow

But the roughest, hardest, quickest thing I ever knew.

Tonight I'll dream of you

Your lips brush my cheek

And I know you always leave

Even in my dreams

But tonight won't you please

Let me touch you again

Even in my dreams

It's the

Softest, sweetest, slowest thing I've ever known.

You kissed my forehead when you said goodbye

Your face as you try not to cry

The first tear slips from my eye.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.