Poets logo

A Year Later

(I’m Back)

By JPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
1

Almost A Year later & I’ll admit things have gotten better

Now the regime has had a small change & it feels a bit … strange

I can’t help but to feel blessed even though I lost way more than what I would’ve guessed..

From losing My Vision..

My Passion..

My Focus..

Myself..

& finally My Twin..

To starting my own Businesses,

Gaining unconditional Love & Respect from a few thousand people,

But most importantly… finding Myself again..

I’ll admit that during that time I was being eaten away in my mind..

I was mentally in deep distress while trying to build a kingdom without any rest,

& trying to give love to everyone when I had little to offer; next to none..

But it all changed when I saw the Fruit Of My Labors somewhat later

All the love that I gave came back in small doses of smiles that be forever engraved..

Into my heart as I am reminded that I am not truly alone & I don’t mind it..

They say “If you love something, let it go.. If it comes back to you, it’s yours…”

So I did as my life was on pause

“…If It doesn’t then it never was…”

But it’s that last part that made me very petrified from the start..

I knew it was time for A New Beginning

I was just so caught up in how the Old was ending..

It definitely took some time

To recoup & refine those thin lines

But I picked up my pen again to write another Short Rhyme

That’s when I felt like myself instead of that withered old hack,

So, here’s to Almost A Year later of me being away as I’m Back

performance poetryMental HealthinspirationalFree Verse
1

About the Creator

J

Gather around everyone... It's Storytime

& maybe, just maybe, one of these can help you through the day..

- Jacob

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 2 months ago

    Welcome back, Jack! Great work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.