Poets logo

A Year in my Life

Dark and Gloomy to Sunny and Bright

By BettyPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
A Year in my Life
Photo by Samet Kurtkus on Unsplash

Shades of black and muted grey, consume my mind everyday

The storm that rolls inside my brain, whirls around like a hurricane

I can't explain all this pain, that tends to drive me so insane

Dark times happen way too much, affecting everything I touch

I'm sick and tired of these blues, I really hate dark stormy hues

I prefer to smile big and bright, it seems to take all my might

My life will never be the same, hot orange flames are to blame

By Andy Watkins on Unsplash

And failing brakes on a silver Audi, left me with a messed up body

Twists and turns, squeals and bangs, I felt the impact of metal fangs

Before I knew I was in flight, on the cold and scary night!

By Matt ODell on Unsplash

Thankfully I did not die, I say with a great big sigh

Waking each morning to a new day, makes me feel blessed is all I can say

My whole life is completely new, re-learning everything is what I do

Everyday I take in stride, achievements make me beam with pride

Bright sunny days soothe my soul, I no longer walk as now I roll

A wheelchair is my best friend, a new beginning not an end!

By Nayeli Dalton on Unsplash

My look has changed as you see, no matter what I am still me

My disability is not a curse, I continue forward not in reverse

Yes I'm different and more diverse, with all my gumption I do immerse

I could be dead which would be worse!

By Rhodi Lopez on Unsplash

This personal growth is what I need, in order to make my life succeed

A unique individual that is me, not invisible, I am 3D

I'm not greater or less than just equal to, a human being just like you!

The future is mine to be happy and bright, so amazing ideas can take great flight

My imagination is full of thought, expressed openly in a journal I bought

I cross my T's and dot my I's, as I glance out the window into the skies.

A beautiful creation up above, shines down upon me which I love

Gleaming brightly through the clouds and sun, joined together all as one

Its vivid colors do create, an amazing sight that is so great

Stripes of red, orange, yellow and green, make me happy definitely not mean

Blue, Indigo and Violet the last few, how it all happens I don't have a clue

What did I see do you know, right on, a beautiful rainbow

Mother Natures original Van Gogh, for all to love its grandiose glow!

The next thing I saw was a bumble bee, buzzing by a deep purple lilac tree.

Nature to me is an amazing sight, open and free to be what it might

For all to enjoy in splendid delight, the variety of colorful blooms do excite

In harmony and peace together they grow, like garlic and cheese in a delicious risotto.

Don't get me started on food and all that, as chopping and cooking are things I work at

All aspects of life are different for me in this wheelchair, with strength and persistence I will get there

The past year of life has been a re-birth

I didn't die so I must have importance, value and worth

Along with a special purpose on this great Earth!

inspirational

About the Creator

Betty

An average person that enjoys DYI and History shows.

A huge Downton Abbey fan that would have loved to live that life.

Nanny to 2 sweet grandchildren.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    BettyWritten by Betty

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.