Poets logo

A Writer's Eulogy

Michael Marchese

By Michael Brandon MarchesePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

I write still to show

The flaws I've corrected

Before I must go

Here's some I've perfected

I'm breakable bones

My weakness is real

You can crush them with stones

But my spirit is steel

I've howled depressions

With lone wolf confide

I've roared at oppressions

With lion king pride

I rose unforgiving

From indifferent graves

To haunt those unliving

As apathy's slaves

I council with silence

Keep quiet rapport

With deafening violence

Of thoughts waging war

I'm pop country's menace

Funk you profanity

Spit-venom vengeance

And breakdowns of sanity

I've sung innuendos

Love's chorus revised

By symphonic crescendos

Two beats harmonized

I'll never stop trying

To save this blue sphere

Our mother is crying

Apocalypse tears

I move hyperactive

My sprinting brain sped

Beyond the distractive

Outrunning my dread

I'm tempests emerging

Typhoons kept at bay

And now my storm surging

Will blow you away

I've fearlessly gazed

Upon Grim's complexion

The hell that was raised

Was just my reflection

I channel my hate

As my anger stream grows

Into rivers irate

Then tranquility flows

I form nations in clouds

Above law and border

No star-spangled shrouds

In my higher world order

I'm heat-seeker lines

Poetic napalms

Metaphor landmines

And ticking rhyme bombs

I've warped my perceptions

And force-choking grips

And Death Star conceptions

From jedi mind trips

And I 'll leave you assured

My crusade will not yield

Until peace is ensured

And these wounds have all healed

Incurred as the ward

Of my muses concealed

Now commanding a horde

Of the furies revealed

I have severed accord

With the fates I have sealed

I've matured and endured

On this life battlefield

With this pen as my sword

And this pain as my shield

For I am the lord

Of the words that I wield

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.