Poets logo

A Young Communist on Acid

Michael Marchese

By Michael Brandon MarchesePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

You don't really want me

Or know what I am

I'm more of a monster

Than I am a man

To learn what I've done

In the past, a nightmare

To see through my eyes

Is a sun-spotted glare

It would just leave you blind

With your tail in between

And your past in rewind

Up a flash-broken stream

Yet as it fast-forwards

It all passes by

You will feel like a God

All alone in the sky

Where your setting resembles

The beauty in pain

Born merely to die

While bound to this brain

As a feeling machine

With a lithium heart

Energized by emotional

Chemical art

As it flows from the brush,

Or the pen, or the sword

Machiavellian muses

Of severed accord

Couldn't stop the all-mighty

The father of time

The eternal high king

The most masterful mind

Who hears your exalts

As the crack of a whip

Because demons of freedom

Are my power trip

And I worship my maker,

My change, and my spark

With a riddle bit light

And a hint of the dark

You may follow the leader

Or challenge the tyrant

Regardless, the sheep

All submit to the lion

But I only hunger

For words to fulfill

My famished empire

Without the blood spill

Still I hold no claim

To this gilded cage feast

I wish only to tame

This industrial beast

End the ownership over

This name-branded earth

And slash the price tags

From the truth in the dirt

When I rise from the void

The undeadliest ghost

The half-life of the party

The first Sunday post

I am rare breeds of rebel

The blue-shaded red

I'm the hammer and sickle

The grim reaper's dread

My coup will be swift

Like a thief in the night

My reign will endure

Through the ages I write

My purge will emerge

In the surging of storms

My war will lay waste

To these spineless conforms

And from ashes of norms

And the freeing of slaves

I will build pyramids

Atop amber grain waves

I will cleanse atmos-fears

With metropolis trees

Deforested cities

Will fall to their knees

But I will uplift them

To share in my vision

As I keep the peace treaty

Sealed in this prism

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.