Poets logo

A Trip Through Hell

Surviving Abuse

By Kenzie Lea Published 3 years ago â€ĸ 1 min read
Like

I could have done a lot worse,

I could have gave into this curse.

As numb and hollow became my norm,

I began to accept this form.

On the outside who would even suspect,

all the secrets that I've kept..

After so long, I had to speak out loud,

I didn't need a podium or crowd..

I only needed someone I could confide in,

I needed to release my bourdons to begin..

Do you know how long I waited?

Just to be shaded..

I guess I never even got started,

before I became so guarded.

If you only knew, you would say "of course you did,"

you were only just a kid..

But alas, here I am becoming free of this prison you put me in,

finally feeling comfortable in my own skin.

I didn't need to confide in anyone, especially you,

my hatred only grew.

You buried what happened to keep you sane,

I was left to carry this bourdon, I wore the chain.

I grieved what should have been mine,

all the lost time..

What I needed was to get right with my soul..

get back what you stole.

Now I can live my life in peace,

The war in my mind has ceased.

Because I know my truth and I know it well,

It is I who survived a trip through hell.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Kenzie Lea

Writing has been my escape for as long as i can remember. Poetry will always have a special place in my heart. I am on the journey of discovering my voice again.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Š 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.