Poets logo

A Tribute

A School Mourns Loss

By AnnaMarie JenemaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Taken by AnnaMarie Jenema

I walk this linear path,

A patch of sidewalk heading towards the library.

Seats line the walkway,

Their shadows sit beside me.

Never again will their footsteps join mine,

nor sit at their desks.

Our campus created this space for them,

And their families mourn.

A shadowed figure dips his head,

Never again to see his friends.

I glance at them as I continue on my way,

My heart is a boulder keeping me to this grassy field.

I take a photo as if to whisper,

"I will remember you."

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

AnnaMarie Jenema

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.