Poets logo

A Trade Agreement

Alternate Title: You are a logical person

By Lily WinterPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
A Trade Agreement
Photo by Roberto Sorin on Unsplash

See,

you are ~clearly~ out of my league.

Everyone knows it,

even my parents.

In fact, it’s painfully obvious.

I don’t necessarily mean in the sense

of aesthetic beauty.

No, in that case, we’re both gorgeous.

I mean that your very essence is so incredibly beyond desirable

that anyone who bottled it would be an overnight millionaire.

Your mind works so logically

while mine is a whirlwind of chaotic thoughts.

An amalgamation of episodes, rather than a single, coherent slideshow presentation.

When you speak, people fight to listen,

And I fight simply to be heard.

You know the rules for the world and use them to your advantage,

And I walk in blindly, and expect the universe to bend to my will.

Sometimes, it does, sometimes it doesn’t.

So here I am, just a person

Begging the universe to bend to my will

and grant me a wish.

I want you to be mine.

Before you answer, let me sweeten the deal.

You are a logical person.

I think this can be presented in a logical way,

And I think both parties can benefit,

so for the sake of a good trade agreement,

bear with me.

I offer you- my dear-

All of my love until I die.

Not until you die.

Until I die.

A very strong distinction that needs made.

(Although, I will die first doing something stupid, I believe it’s the sentiment that counts).

I offer you- my dear-

the biggest half of everything we split.

Every cookie, every bed, every utility bill.

Trust me, it’s a good deal,

provided you don’t think too hard about it.

I offer you- my dear-

A soft beginning,

a happy life,

an adventure every day,

and two headstones side by side-

AFTER I die doing something stupid,

of course.

I offer you- my dear-

Cheezits bought in bulk,

endless popcorn and costco muffins,

and enough dog hair to drown in-

provided we find a place for my art supplies.

I offer you- my dear-

Every word,

and every thought,

and every way in which I can possible demonstrate my love,

until- frankly- you grow sick of me.

But I do not offer you, my dear, a way out.

Please plan accordingly

In short,

I don’t have much to offer,

but what I have is heavy, and durable,

And I love exactly like that-

I will love YOU exactly like that-

heavy and durable.

You are a logical person.

I think you know a good deal when you see one.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Lily Winter

Hello! I am an eighteen year old university student, and avid writer. To learn more about me, check out my instagram-

Personal: @lily_winter4722

Business: @lily_winter_writes

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.