Poets logo

A Time to Heal

By Patrick Donovan - Author, Journalist, Screenwriter

By Patrick Donovan - Author, Screenwriter, JournalistPublished 3 years ago 1 min read

Given time, to cry and heal,

I have to know my life is real,

So real now, not like before,

With such pain, such hurt and more.

I gave no care, to the ones I love,

Nor did I care about the dove,

I wanted it now, and wanted it fast,

For it was that important to make it last,

Struggling in pain, resentment and fear,

I could not get away but yet I could hear,

The calling of hope, of joy and glee,

Would soon let me feel that my heart was free,

I stood at the wake of the valley of death,

Yet though I could see it, I was on my last breath,

I struggled through hate, the evil and despair,

To make my way forward, for soon I'd be there,

A man once again, free of the binds,

That held me back, away from the kinds,

Of feelings I yearned for, there deep inside,

The feelings so painful, that I had to hide,

So as I pushed my way to the top,

I saw there was light, a good feeling I got,

I knew I was free, free of my pain,

On the road to recovery, as I started to abstain,

From the drug that got me, in the hole so deep,

And crept ever forward, now awaken from sleep,

And another chance at love and life,

To finally have peace, from all the pain and strife,

I'm happy now since, I've tendered the beast,

That dwelled deep within, the part I liked least,

But that's all behind, far behind as I walk,

Far away I must go, and break the lock,

That held that chains, that was my cross,

For I now could see, how truly I was lost,

And I say to you, who tread this way,

Follow me and be free and start a new day.

© 2004 - 2021 - Patrick Donovan. All rights reserved.

inspirational

About the Creator

Patrick Donovan - Author, Screenwriter, Journalist

Pat Donovan is a proud, former member of the US Navy, a service-connected disabled veteran. His current projects include his debut science fiction novel called: FUTURECAST and his Feature: Project Abaddon: RISE OF THE DESTROYER.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Patrick Donovan - Author, Screenwriter, JournalistWritten by Patrick Donovan - Author, Screenwriter, Journalist

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.