Poets logo

A Stranger, or Maybe an Angel

A poem to honor a meaningful memory

By Jessica WolfPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
A Stranger, or Maybe an Angel
Photo by Randy Kinne on Unsplash

Surrounded by pretty lights, nature

Art, music

Beautiful people

Pure ecstatic joy in the air

But in my heart

I feel alone

Where are my friends?

Am I missing my favorite band?

I don’t even care

I’m just gonna sit here alone

Because I feel so alone anyways

Why do I feel so alone anyways?

Amongst thousands of people

In the moment of a lifetime

Here I am

Stuck in my head

Paralyzed, I can’t make myself move

Yet my thoughts run round and round easily

Suddenly

Reflecting the soft colorful lights

A face appears

Peering into mine

Soul searching through locked eyes

A minute ago I was guarded

But all walls fall

At the intensity of his recognition

A stranger

Or maybe an angel

Reaches out to me

Hand outstretched

I grab hold

Our hands lock as

His electricity flows

Lights me up from the inside out

He pulls me up from my seat in the grass

And pulls me close

This stranger

This angel

Says to me,

“Why should a pretty girl like you look so sad in such a beautiful place as this?”

I have no words

I realize, there is no good reason

Then he spins me out

Twirls me around

We dance for a moment

The moment stretches into infinity

I feel more free than I’ve ever felt

I feel understood

I feel connected

I’ve been blessed

I am love

He is everything good

Together, in that moment

We are pure light and grace

Then this stranger

This angel

Recedes from me

Back into the aether from which he came

But not before making a miracle

Eyes still locked on mine

A soft smile playing at his lips

My face shines back

Reflecting the beauty he gifted me

He loves it, I can tell

He knows what he did

He just pulled me out of my trenches and showed me

What a joke it was

What a trap, what a trick

To be there in the first place

In this place

Surrounded by beauty

Art

Love

Pure human connection

How silly of me

It was always available to me

He reminded me of that

“Thanks,” was all I could muster

As he ran off into the colorful night

No doubt going on his way

To be his beautiful self and light up other lives

Friends and strangers alike

He was gone as quick as he came

But my smile remained

And that moment was mine to keep

To remember forever

The night an angel took my hand to dance

And showed me how to be free

In my own world

.

© 2022 Jessica Wolf

love poems

About the Creator

Jessica Wolf

A creator, writing.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jessica WolfWritten by Jessica Wolf

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.