Poets logo

A Song of Sorrow

A Lifeline or a Noose?

By Poppy Published 2 years ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
4
A Song of Sorrow
Photo by Leon Contreras on Unsplash

I saw him as someone he wasn’t – someone filled with goodness instead of the festering calamity that actually inhabited him. His touch was like lightning, and I’d always loved storms. I thought eyes seeing me meant a heart loving me, but I couldn’t have been more wrong.

The ground shook when I realised I couldn’t give him breathable air to inhale, and I never considered it might be him adding toxin to the atmosphere. I never considered that his disease might be killing me too.

This is me trying to explain all the ways he carved me up. This is me trying to describe all the ways I tried to do the opposite for him. I want the world to know who he truly is because no matter what I do, I cannot tell the girl I was in time.

But if I could tell her one thing it would be this: that rope he is holding is not your lifeline, it is your noose.

❀❀❀❀❀

Please check out more like this:

heartbreaksad poetrylove poems
4

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    Wow, I absolutely love how strongly you wrote this! The word choices here are amazing. “His touch was like lightning, and I’d always loved storms. I thought eyes seeing me meant a heart loving me, but I couldn’t have been more wrong.” Damn.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.