Poets logo

A song for coming out of darkness

A poem

By Mescaline BrissetPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Photo by Mekht on Unsplash

Were you there

With me as a black widow

Horseman of the Apocalypse

On the black horse of your doomsday?

I could have dragged you down to the lowest ground

Twist you around, dig you up

Among corpses of all kinds

But instead, I’m coming up for air

With all the great news, flowers in my hands

Although I’m not sure if that’s the best idea

As I’m not the sentimental

Type

Trying to refrain

From all ties of all kinds

As they hurt, I bring you then

Myself

With a bright smile as a harbinger of

All unknown paths

We could dive in

Where all the wild and vile plants grow

To protect ourselves

From their destructive deeds

Demanding our destiny

To be lied upon

Yet we dare to overcome any storm

If it ever happens again

As we are skilled

In carving out of the darkness of the day

Drowning in an invigorating night instead

Extracting vital juices –

Our ambrosia to deal with it

The most unbelievable of lives

Hand in hand with the devil

Too many times to believe it

And yet it still happens

When you scream

I’m learning

It’s just the eternal order of things here

*

June – September 2022

***

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this poem, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Mescaline Brisset on my Vocal profile. The art of creation never ends.

inspirationalnature poetrysad poetrysocial commentarysurreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Mescaline Brisset

if it doesn't come bursting out of you

in spite of everything,

don't do it.

unless it comes unasked out of your

heart and your mind and your mouth

and your gut,

don't do it.

so you want to be a writer? – Charles Bukowski

Find me on Medium

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Mescaline Brisset is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.