Poets logo

A declaration of my freedoms, responsibilities, and principles

With my hand on my heart

By Mescaline BrissetPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
2
Photo by Marija Zaric on Unsplash

: Inspired by the book “Life in the UK” and my life

*

Like ‘the Blitz spirit’ during the war

I intend to survive any invasion to come

On my soul or body or any part of it

Connected with me anyhow

*

I will not allow injustice and breaking the law

To take effect in my seat

I will fight all discrimination, racism, and beliefs

Demanding their rights against freedom of speech

*

I will not be silent when someone depreciates

Me or anyone or anything around me

Unlawfully, inhumanly, unfairly

For I swear to protect the weak from the wicked

*

I will oppose any fabrication of truth

By fabricated figures, even in the family

As everywhere, I will point out injustice

In every aspect of our lives

*

No field is fully free of it

Therefore, we must find it and fight it

Regardless of the cost

Our health is at stake

*

If others before us could, we can too

Even if the war didn’t break out on our hands

And yet we will fight on every front

Until the last breath

*

With the tools of modern society

If we are not educated enough

We find the right people who are

And we will build strong arms of resistance

*

Against evil flowing inconsistently

From many sides of a divided society

With the legitimate people, we will fight it

Restoring the ‘Glorious Revolution’ in our hearts

*

Just as Mother Earth has taught us for centuries

Creating communities worth constructing a better world

Away from the five ‘Giant Evils’:

Want, Disease, Ignorance, Squalor, Idleness

*

Away from violence

Executed on our hearts and souls

As always, we had it and wanted to give it to the world

Before it is too late to think about it

*

4 June 2022

revised on 29 September 2022

***

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this poem, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Mescaline Brisset on my Vocal profile. The art of creation never ends.

fact or fictioninspirationalsocial commentary
2

About the Creator

Mescaline Brisset

if it doesn't come bursting out of you

in spite of everything,

don't do it.

unless it comes unasked out of your

heart and your mind and your mouth

and your gut,

don't do it.

so you want to be a writer? – Charles Bukowski

Find me on Medium

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

Mescaline Brisset is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.