Poets logo

A Soda and Two Cups

Love you Brother!!!

By Rick Henry Christopher Published 2 years ago 1 min read
13

Comfort for me is…

Grabbing an extra cup and sharing my soda with my brother

It's driving a little further than expected to visit my sister

It's giving up my seat for the comfort of my mother

It's getting on my knees to tie the shoes of my father

Comfort to me is…

Giving what I can to the one that has no food

It's giving patience to the one that is being rude

It's clothing the one that is sitting in the nude

It's encouraging the one with the sunken mood

Comfort for me is…

Walking in the sun eating ice cream in the park

It's seeing graceful colors on the rainbow's arc

It's making things bright with a smile and a spark

It's knowing that I'm happy as the sky grows dark

Comfort for me is just knowing that "I am"

inspirational
13

About the Creator

Rick Henry Christopher

Writing is a distraction to fulfill my need for intellectual stimulus, emotional release, and soothing the bruises of the day.

The shattered pieces of life will not discourage me.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Sneha Pradhan2 years ago

    I love this! Beautifully done, Rick 🤍

  • nice poem. sounds like you really enjoy life

  • The Dani Writer2 years ago

    Such a loving poem! Truly precious and gave me the warm fuzzies.

  • P. M. Starr2 years ago

    A perfect companion piece to your random 1979 albums piece; glad I read this right after that one, & big hugs to you.

  • I loved this so much! Like Linda mentioned below, comfort is finding happiness in the smallest of things. Nothing extravagant or materialistic. Very beautifully written!

  • Linda Rivenbark2 years ago

    A truly beautiful poem that covers so much of what really matters in life. It shows that you know how to find joy in life's simple pleasures like a rainbow, a cone of ice cream, helping others who are down, and the love of family and friends. I hearted it.

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    This is great. Well done

  • Excellent words , great poetry Rick

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Inspiring and comforting!!! Bravo for your awesome poem!!!👏💖😊💕

  • E. J. Strange2 years ago

    Wow 🤩 great rhymes

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.