Poets logo

A Snapshot in Time

Written for My Son At Five Weeks Old

By Sirena Carroll - The Blind Single MomPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2024
17
(Video supplied by author.)

Never apologize

For cleaving so tightly,

For cries at top volume,

For needing me nightly.

All moments are treasured,

Both placid and wild;

I’m here, sailing with you

On the swells of Sea Child.

Your love is pure sweetness,

Devoid of all guile.

God looks straight at me

With each of your smiles.

When I struggle to cope,

I breathe in your fragrance,

Cradle you near me,

Rejoice in your innocence.

In the moments devoid

Of constant demanding,

My heart finds an anchor

In pure understanding.

Each day, love, you’re changing;

These times are so fleeting.

Right now, I’m your whole world;

You’re not yet retreating.

If I could stop time, with

You safe in my arms,

You’d never know loneliness

Or a broken heart's harm.

Time sweeps us forward, a

Current, insisting

We celebrate the present,

All in, unresisting.

I glide on still waters

Holding you, baby boy.

I dance in the chaos

With a bittersweet joy.

The feedings, the changes,

Loud, wordless commands;

I covet this stage,

I know you’re safe in my hands.

One day you will crawl, then

Pull up, stand, and run.

So I revel in now,

When my arms are freedom.

____________________

If you like what you've read here, please comment and consider supporting my content by subscribing. Tips and pledges are always welcome, but your thoughts are the true gold.

Free VerseFamily
17

About the Creator

Sirena Carroll - The Blind Single Mom

Killing Misconceptions, One Story At A Time

I'm Sirena, a book-loving blind mom opening up on the unique life of single and co-parenting with a disability.

Follow And Friend

Instagram

Facebook

Message me to let me know who you are. 😀

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Gigi Gibson4 months ago

    Oh my goodness Sirena... your story and your beautiful video of you and your son have touched my heart! Thank you for sharing your love with us. It's beautiful.

  • Test4 months ago

    Marvelous work! Keep it going—congrats!

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    Very lovely. I remember those days well, distant though they are.

  • Awww, your poem was so wonderful! I enjoyed your lovely video. The sudden barking from the dog scared me, lol!

  • Beautiful! Shared! ❤

  • Kendall Defoe 4 months ago

    Sweet and sincere.

  • Dana Crandell4 months ago

    Beautifully penned!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.