Poets logo

A snake in the tree

A snake

By Joy LakraPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
2
A snake in the tree
Photo by Stefan on Unsplash

A snake in the tree

A snake slithered up the tree

Beside my window pane,

Its scales a mottled green

That blended with the rain.

I watched it coil and twist

Among the branches bare,

And wondered if it would

Come closer to my stare.

But then it slithered down

And disappeared from sight,

And I was left alone

With just the rain and night.

I thought of all the things

That snake could have done,

If it had chosen to.

It could have bitten me,

Or slithered through the screen,

Or even coiled around

My neck squeezed me till I screamed.

But it didn't do any of those things.

It just slithered up the tree

And then down again,

And disappeared into the night.

I don't know why it didn't hurt me.

Maybe it was just curious,

Or maybe it was afraid of me.

I'll never know for sure.

But one thing is certain:

I'll never forget the night

The snake climbed the tree next to my window.

nature poetry
2

About the Creator

Joy Lakra

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.