Poets logo

A Sky – Missing Stars

A Story of Being Lost

By HaileyPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
1
A Sky – Missing Stars
Photo by Khamkéo Vilaysing on Unsplash

I feel as blank as a sky on the darkest night,

but without the stars to provide me light.

When the stars are there, they shine so bright,

And when they're there I'm free of fright.

But when they're not,

Lost is all I've got.

I'll say the one thing I always know,

That's – the sun will come, and again it will go.

But I feel misplaced when comes the night,

I know I'm lost, so I look to take flight.

It's easy to become lost within,

When you feel something about you always needs fixing.

My mind begins to lie to me,

Which turns me to a cry like plea.

Does the world even want me?

What do I have to do to be free?

I spread myself as thin as the night sky again and again and I wonder why,

I wonder why I even try.

I wander alone in the darkness,

Searching for these answers, knowing others could care less.

Maybe it's the clouds as I think about it now,

Because wherever they look – I am found.

These clouds get in the way of clarity,

They block all the things that I need to see.

I realize now the stars are there – just clouded,

And I wonder why I ever doubted.

inspirationalsad poetry
1

About the Creator

Hailey

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.