Poets logo

A Simple Test

Poem about my mind...and Modest Mouse

By Paul StewartPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
16
A Simple Test
Photo by Joel Muniz on Unsplash

This is just a simple test,

a test to simply test my mind

A test to simply test my mind

that never lets me ever unwind

*

I start thinking of some lyrics,

some lyrics to a classic song

Some lyrics to a classic song,

that plays and plays in my mind

that plays and plays in my mind,

that never lets me ever unwind

*

The song that plays is The World At Large,

The World At Large by Modest Mouse

The World at Large by Modest Mouse,

that plays and plays in my mind

That plays and plays in my mind,

that never lets me ever unwind

*

This is just a simple test,

a test to simply test my mind

A test to simply test my mind

that never lets me ever unwind

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Note: People that know me will know that I often talk about my overactive mind. I thought of this jolly little playful thing last night. The lyrics to The World at Large, the song mentioned in the poem, by the rather brilliant rock group Modest Mouse, always sound to me like they are the thoughts of a man with a lot on his mind. I can relate.

Here is the referenced song:

Here are a few others by me:

You can also check out the rest of my work here.

fact or fictionsurreal poetrysocial commentarysad poetryperformance poetryart
16

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    You already KNOW! You know I love it. 💗

  • Test10 months ago

    I love how revealing the repetition is. This feels like a familiar comfort. It’s very precise. I’m glad to have read this.

  • Sounds so familiar....

  • This felt like a good poem to read when I'm losing my mind. Sorry if that wasn't your intention. But it also had a trance-like effect to it!

  • ARC10 months ago

    Many thanks for embedding this song - now with your lyrics - into my brain tissue! Scalpel, please, Nurse. 😂 Great work with this Paul - and agree that both you and MM have a lot on your minds!

  • Ive never heard this song but wow what a good piece

  • Test10 months ago

    Loved ❤️ I had never heard the song before, reminds me a little of Mouldy Peaches, 'anyone but you' even though its absolutely nothing like it! Definitely a lot going on!

  • Kendall Defoe 10 months ago

    You are as eclectic as me... Impressive!

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    I love Modest Mouse! We have similar taste in music, lol

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.