Poets logo

A Simple Riddle

Could you take a wild guess??

By Grimreapers.InkPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
A Simple Riddle
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

I facilitate the question and the answer, the beginning and the end.

This is a poem, where the narrative doesn’t make any sense.

You dreaded my embrace, but in my arms that you should get a break (FINALLY!!!).

"Wait?"

If you look into my eyes, you will see judgment; but what was reflected was simply A pavement. (But it really doesn’t matter, because we won’t always be together. ARE YOU ALSO A FAN OF THE INCEPTION?!?!)

I will not lead you astray; here is the path you….EH…. Can take. (Or DID I leave you a stray? Who has the final say?)

You will make it (let’s make sure that it’s in your way). I HAVE BEEN outwitted. Is everything going to be okay? (Yay?)

Before me, nobody can fake it (Ha!), EVERYONE is naked (Ew!).

Everything is stripped away but those who made it (Who?).

I only tear down illusions; you draw your own conclusions. (Oh Billy, I wish I was gay…Or simply think straight.)

I wield the sword to balance the scale. You don't need to eat all that Kale. (**Yelp** I think it's going stale.)

I inspire AND intimidate; I am a tail-chasing snake. (Now that I’ve circled the fun-mirror, I won’t waste another gaze.)

(Holy shit, Alex…How long is this riddle?! Nay, I don’t want to meddle… CAN I KEEP MY MEDAL?)

I am the medium that meets you in the middle. And by the way…I appreciate the salt and shovel.

Really, I am not so different from any driver, taking you from one chapter to another.

Oh, were you WAITING for another?

Some are too afraid to look me in the face, and they are haunted and enslaved (me); but those who saw me and did not look away, are truly free and brave…but if one keeps staring, wouldn’t it be a waste?

I will lure you; I will fascinate you. (Ooooo, I could make or waste your days…)

I will pain you; I will take it all away. (Humph?)

No one wants to schedule an appointment (-_-), but patiently I wait. (GOSH! What a waste!)

I will come for you anyway. Nah, don't bother to measure your waist. (How much more of this am I willing to take?)

Ohhhh I am cunning! You will never see me cuming-cuming-cuming…(Though, didn't I give you plenty of warnings?)

Those who try to conquer me, I fondly devour (Yup!); those who befriend me, are treated kindly in the hour. (Though at a time, I was a wildfire, burning everyone with unjustified power.)

I could be your ascension (redemption), or I could be your demise (Nay! Denied!) –

Our own fate is ours to RIGHT. (This damn riddle took HOURS to write.)

Could you embody Temperance, and embrace YOUR transformation? (Oh, beware the danger of isolation, the lack of examination, and the PROLONGED contemplation.

**Sigh**

FINE!

I am clever and mischievous; holy fuck I am HILAAAAARIOUS!!! (Welp, I know I am also a kinder idiot.)

A dark sense of humor I foster; I am the irony of mine. In my presence, people laugh and cry...(Though they cut like knives, mistakes are fine~)

I never wanted to be the reason why anyone leaves the wives; but wow, how unwittingly I’ve tried. (No, not just once or twice. Man! It’s like I was still five. And I am learning to get this right. Why have I done such things? Probably because of available men I have been terrified.)

My job is difficult, but I am NOT the only one who's brave enough to face the devil. (It’s hard to believe how well we can take the tumbles.)

Who would go through THIS MUCH trouble, To lead you through the rabbit hole? (If you find one… Hmm, is it possibly a rebel???)

I giggled, spreading the seeds, through harmless(?!) misdeeds. (Though it’s much harder, and MUCH braver, to sow a good deed, for I know how naughty I can be.)

I am OFTEN misunderstood and feared, but I am here to do justice to my peers. (If you’ve seen my tears, would you scratch your beard?)

I have worn many pants; I have shaken many hands. I have rinsed my bloody fangs. Did you wash your bloody hands??

In 2 days, you may spot me as a watery, fiery, and EXTREMELY HORNY snake!

Dare you say my name? Would you greet me with grace? Or dig your own grave?

Ugh...are you STILL going to wait?

art

About the Creator

Grimreapers.Ink

We lick tears and poop rainbows,

Adoration we felt for riddles,

Did we cause any trouble?

It's not an invitation to meddle!

Would you meet me in the middle?

Dare you solve your puzzle?

Vont Mi 2 Ken-so?

BAHHHHHHHH,

With words, we TICKLE!!

4 giggles.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Grimreapers.InkWritten by Grimreapers.Ink

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.