Poets logo

A Silhouette

hopefully a love story

By Nicole WesterhousePublished 3 years ago 1 min read

In dreams I am dancing in the shadows

It's a solo and all the world's my stage

I take my place, but see my face?

I look so sad though.

God gave the book of life

But tore out the last page

Then I awake in a madness

In a daze, in a frenzy

But the only thing I seem to recall

Was thinking it's not right

That there wasn't a spotlight

Even in my dreams, the darkness always falls

on me

Are you lonely just like me?

Do you see the world I see?

Or am I walking the street

A silhouette?

A silhouette

Pirouettes

Graceful ghost

I raise a toast

There's an insufferable light

That never seems to go out

It shines from my bedroom window

As I lay counting sheep

Trying to block the world out

Who could sleep in it's glow?

Who could sleep in it's glow?

Insomnia is killing me

It seems this city never sleeps

I wonder, has it given into madness?

Because my thoughts run together

For what feels like forever

'Til the morning bathes me in it's sadness

Do you share this burden too?

Does a darkness follow you?

Or am I a lonely fool

A silhouette?

A silhouette

Pirouettes

A shadow, see?

Could it be me?

A figure moves

Across the room

Is it you?

Please be you

Say you're lonely just like me

Say you see the world I see

Please don't let me just be

A silhouette

Am I dancing on my own?

Maybe you could join along

A waltz requires two

Me and you

love poems

About the Creator

Nicole Westerhouse

I'm thirty.

Damn, that hurts to type, but there it is.

Not much of note.

I suppose I should say "yet."

Makes it sound like I'm going places.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Nicole WesterhouseWritten by Nicole Westerhouse

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.