Poets logo

A Shadow's Banquet

Daydreaming inside of a nightmare

By KuroHoshiPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
A Shadow's Banquet
Photo by I.am_nah on Unsplash

I can feel the worms in my chest

I'm floating in the halls of this charcoaled house

White sheets are still over me

My body is underneath the floorboards

They've been feeding fresh money and pastel coins

I can taste the smoke on my tongue and I'm not who you loved

His buried within walls and these fake novelties

My rage is bleeding, dripping into the air

I'm haunting the books behind the couch

Next to the expired food

beneath the pens and pencils filled with sizzling oil

I'm not some unwanted guest crying over the lost

I found happiness once

I hold on to the pictures in my head as the summer set a flame

I wanted to run from home

Bring everything I own, birth with, and laugh to

But I stayed with the disasters

Oh, how they blew away my home

The rats singing as the wood fell

Wildfires dancing in the kitchen as it floods in my bedrooms

and the least of my worries was I was dying

Waiting for another answer.

It never came, and it's my fault that I was lying

sad poetry

About the Creator

KuroHoshi

A Poet, An Artist, and the person who tries to become a living star

I write the about the creatures from underneath my mind

Some are happy, others are truthful, but I'll let you decide what's their fate

Profile Pic made by milkymisul

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Thavien Yliaster7 months ago

    Lying In my own twisted Convulsions That cause a Repulsion To all that veer near this place Of which I used to call "Home." Yet, There is no "home." A place to close my eyes at the end of the day As my breath left my lips And my connective tissue That was my blood Inured, Lacking Inertia To propel me to be who I was, let alone The person I needed to be Lest I bereft and beget The demon from within me As the gates to hell Creak open its wrought iron Unleashing their Ungodly horrors unto this house As the money they gave me Was denied at the rivers Styx Thus, I was drowned in a lack of compassion Again as I trudged through the bottom Whipping Cerberus At the gates' door Becoming the portal To the hell they gave me The ink they use signatures their fate Away to torture much worse than they gave me As the water they drink toxifies them from their heart to their Pores As the wrath Self-pity Loathing and Contempt All pours Out of me Marinating this dwelling Seasoning it, Making it ripe for their misfortune For though I have been released from one life to the next I am not free For that's the second occupation of the truth As of now, I'm enslaved to its first prerogative, Which is to piss me off. Their venom intoxicated me Being buried with me Yet, as flowers arise from my grave Whose soil that the worms have churned The hate still remains Be warned Of my own toxic venom And thorns As though I may have been cloaked, covered, by a blanket The feast has not ended for the "Shadow's Banquet." Well, that was probably too much... but, I hope You like it, KuroHoshi.

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    That was intense. Very well done.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)8 months ago

    This was an intense and dark piece, written with such a masterful thought process! Beautifully executed and breath taking! Great work!

  • Heather Hubler8 months ago

    This was really an intense piece with so many good phrases and word choices. Well done :)

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Dark and heartfelt!!!! Left some love!!!

  • This was so heartbreaking and poignant! Loved your poem!

KuroHoshiWritten by KuroHoshi

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.