Poets logo

A Rose in The Thaw

A poem By Payton Adams

By Payton AdamsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

The melting snow hath graced thee with its dew

Of beauty I cannot speak, for you hath grasped my heart

Thy delicate floral lips, of a deep crimson hue,

But thy thorns of ire rip my soul apart.

Woulds’t thou have me tear my hand to ribbons

If for but a moment I may admire thy scent?

Nay, thy thorns make love forbidden,

And send my heart into misery’s descent.

I weep for the days when winter's cold

Drove you to my loving grasp.

But the snow has melted, and we have grown old,

Our love song dulled to an aching rasp.

My love, a flower, now gone from me,

To a garden of life, where I can never be.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Payton Adams

Payton Adams is a small-town writer with hopes of growing to be someone well known around the world. He is currently attending the University of Wisconsin - Green Bay as an English major in hopes of achieving his goal.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.