Poets logo

"A poem of love for my abusive mom."

Your hurt won't descend.

By Greg B.Published 6 months ago 1 min read
1
"A poem of love for my abusive mom."
Photo by Volkan Olmez on Unsplash

At times, my heart yearned for your voice to ring,

To say you're sorry, and truly understand my suffering.

You witnessed my anguish when we left Dad's side,

Introduced a new love, and in me, it left a divide.

That fateful night, the knife, the pain, and the drinks,

You didn't intend to hurt, but the memory still stings.

It shattered you, my departure to be with our father,

His pride in no child support, an unwelcome bother.

You regret giving up when I needed you the most,

Choosing your husband, a decision I reproach.

My voice grows hoarse, expressing my disdain,

But sometimes I contemplate, "Never again."

I no longer care for the ties that bind us kin,

Yet deep inside, I hold empathy within.

I offer prayers, for that's what we both need,

I'm forging a better me, a different seed.

I halt my hand when I discipline my own,

Determined that your shadow won't be shown.

I shield them from the pain I once knew,

For your weakness, I've chosen love anew.

You've painted a portrait of what not to be,

A lesson in love, more profound than I could see.

To choose wiser and love with open hearts,

A legacy born from your fragmented parts.

slam poetrysad poetrylove poems
1

About the Creator

Greg B.

Black Man. Writer.

Now abideth faith, hope, charity, these three; but the greatest of these is charity.”

“I sit with Shakespeare and he winced not.”

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Arslan6 months ago

    I was like in the poem Excellent

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.