Poets logo

A Photo That Looked Like Us

Now I'm dreaming of what could be. I might just start wearing earrings with my hair up.

By Nicole AlexisPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1

Somehow I saw a picture that looked like us,

and I'm not sure what it means.

But I'm grateful for the new opportunity presented to me.

I followed through-

I thought of you and I reached out.

I took the blue pill.

So now I'll take my time,

Plant my seeds,

And trust that it will grow.

Now I'm filled with all these new hopes.

There is nothing stuck in my way,

Nothing to hinder my growth.

I may not be available for all this love,

But I'm glowing with confidence

And glamour.

And right now I need a reason.

I desire to feel seen.

I need someone to watch me,

Someone I can pose for.

Someone I can get dressed for.

Someone I can feel sexy for.

Something that will spark that flame,

So that I can wake up and take my day by the reigns.

I will steer my life in the direction that I want it to go now.

Friends with benefits has a nice ring to it.

I need something quick, fiery, and exciting!

I need lust.

I need laughter.

I need something to make all this isolation worth it.

I need a friend.

You're the reminder of my youth.

You remind me of who I am.

So I'm already so grateful for you.

Thank you for existing.

Thank you for showing me my dream.

You're a new opportunity.

And here I am.

I've been praying for a best friend,

Praying for a best friend,

Praying for a best friend,

Praying for a best friend.

Praying to get sexy with a best friend.

I'll water this seed with gratitude and hope.

And I'll pray and hope that we can one day bloom.

Look at me!

Now I'm filled with hope.

Filled with excitement.

Craving,

Craving,

Craving

More!

More risk!

More adventure!

More fun!

And that seems to be what you represent.

That seems to be all that you are.

So now I will grow.

I will place my faith in myself.

I will follow my dreams.

I will wake up energized, refreshed, and excited to be alive.

I can be all that I desire to be.

I see the potential.

I see the sun,

And I will grow in that direction.

Thank you for showing me my way forward through this darkness.

Unexpected and surprising,

All this feeling just by a photo that looked like us.

I might just start wearing earrings with my hair up.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Nicole Alexis

A 22 year old romantic with a lust for life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.