Poets logo

A Person's a Person

By Brianna Galligan

By Brianna Lynn GalliganPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Please do not walk by my friend.

At least let me know you see me.

This creature you shun I have only become ...

And it haunts my reality .

I had a mother and father .

I had friends and a family too .

This life has its troubles and hardships .

Just like yours does too .

I am struggling, more so than others ,

Yet I am doing better than some .

All I ask is your time to give me a sign ,

Treat me once again as a someone .

A person who learns and who wishes .

A person who loves just like you .

I smile and I cry. I was born and will die .

After all, I am human too .

I have dreams and a mind just like others

And I wish for fate to be kind .

But I’m trying my best here, like others .

And in some cases, may lose my mind .

But I’m still me and that is for certain ,

As you’re you when you walk down the street .

But I pray you’ll see past this curtain

And greet the person sat at your feet .

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.