Poets logo

A Moment

By Brianna Galligan

By Brianna Lynn GalliganPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1

I wish you could be me for a moment.

See the world through my eyes.

I’m struggling and failing like everyone else .

And when home, I hold back my cries.

I took a deep breathe for a moment

And somehow I learned how to fly .

And then, looking back in an instant,

My wings tore with a sudden goodbye .

I lay sinking in that very moment .

And wondered what I did wrong .

Hoping and praying I could change course

And prove everything with a song .

But no song came to me in that moment .

Only silence. So deadly still .

I took another breathe for a moment ...

And accepted if that was your will .

So I sat in my sorrow a moment .

Afraid. Crying out for a sound

That could tell me just what I had witnessed ...

Enough to prove you still around .

And then within a new moment ,

You piped up and reached out your hand .

But I watch as the porcelain crumbled

And my heart could not let it command .

I braced myself back in the moment

And waited to see if t'were real

That you wanted to try and return to a time

When we both knew how each other feels .

And within that very same moment ,

A light came on in my heart

To warm up the pieces and bring them together

And hope that they never will part .

But my heart still gets scared in a moment ,

As I pass people there on the street .

I swear I see you in ever face .

And hope that someday we'll meet .

I stand and I wait in a moment .

Hoping that one day I’ll see

You standing tall with my hand, after all ,

Once again there beside me .

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.