Poets logo

Edelweiss Teardrops (For Pappy)

By Brianna Galligan

By Brianna Lynn GalliganPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

You promised me daffodils

And meandering spring .

Sun rays on window sills

And flying on swings.

You gave me the moon

And you gave me the stars .

You gave me my horses

And you bandaged my scars.

You tickled my toes

And you wiggled my ears .

You stole off my nose

And you stifled my tears.

You loved me in daytime .

You loved me in night .

You drank coffee at tea time .

And saved me from fright.

You gave me your creamers

And shared your whole cake .

You made up my leaf piles

And never made me rake.

You laughed at my movies .

Called me, Minnie Mouse .

You told me war stories

And brightened my house.

You read me the comics ,

Had me sit on your knee .

You asked only for snickers

Or a kiss maybe three.

You lightened my darkness .

Comforted my strife .

Chased away all my worries ,

Making my life.

I grew up yours only

And never gave doubt .

You were my pappy

And I was your scout.

And when days were ending ,

I flew back to you

To comfort and be there ,

Which you knew I would do.

We watched our last Skelton .

Our last Lawrence Welk .

We conquered the darkness ,

And struggled through hell.

I listened to breathing .

Just waiting to hear

The echo of silence ,

The like which I fear.

I sang you my songs

You always enjoy .

I never was wrong ,

You’d say “Nice work Roy”.

The days started slowing

But I stayed by your side .

I held your hand grieving

And watching you die.

But none shall yet know

How slow time goes by .

Or the length of a heartbeat

In wait of a sigh.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.