Poets logo

A Performer I Am Not

Well, it will only matter, if I can’t find someone to fill that spot!

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
A Performer I Am Not
Photo by JJ Jordan on Unsplash

Oh no,

Yes I say so,

Can it be,

Oh my, yes you see,

It is time to go,

Put on a show,

You know.

I was asked to perform for a group,

If we don’t find a troupe.

Whatever can that mean?

I am not sure that I can glean,

What that will mean on that day!

What can I say?

Nothing much, what can I do?

I do not have a clue

and I have time as it’s not yet due,

to perform. Shall I sing,

Or place a ring,

in my nose,

Or spray a hose,

To give everyone a soak.

That would be a joke.

Not a funny one.

No sir son.

I may have won

And not have to do anything

With that idea no nothing

I can find someone

It may be Kay’s son

He is a magician

Do I know any musicians?

No, a performer I am not!

I will be calling in favors, by Scott

If not, I have spoken word to fill the spot!

Not!!

Should I get ready or not?

Should I just give it a shot?

I will start to get ready,

just in case, so I am steady

on my feet

and I can find the right beat!

No, a performer I am not!

I will need to find someone to fill the spot!

performance poetry

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    Well done! This has a definite rhythm to it.

Denise E LindquistWritten by Denise E Lindquist

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.