Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

A Parent's Heartbreak

Septolet Collection

By Mother CombsPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - November 2023
A Parent's Heartbreak
Photo by Alin Luna on Unsplash

My hands

are tied,

my heart

is breaking

*

as you lie in

the

ICU.

****************************************

I have

not known

what to do

since you

became

*

an adult

and moved.

****************************************

All your

decisions

and

actions

*

now are poor and

damaging to your

future life.

****************************************

The phone call

I’ve always

dreaded

*

receiving,

getting at 1 AM,

breaking my

heart.

****************************************

Knowing

nothing

I can do for

you is the

*

worst

feeling

in the world.

****************************************

All I can do

now is pray

to the

Almighty

*

that you

recover

completely.

sad poetryvintagesurreal poetryheartbreakfact or fiction

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin = ViM

PViM

Mike Judey Dharr Grz

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (37)

  • rose amy7 months ago

    great

  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    I hope that the situation has become much better since this was written. I never want to get that call, so i imagine your heartache. Hugs and many blessings to all. Prayers sent . Sad but great TS.

  • Isabella Rose8 months ago

    My words are a poor excuse for comfort, but I am holding you in my thoughts. I know you don't know me, but please reach out if you need to talk.

  • Kristen Balyeat8 months ago

    OH my goodness, sending so much love and holding you close to my heart.

  • Andrea Corwin 8 months ago

    These are great and I’m sorry for the heartache- which many times gives inspiration for such beautiful pieces of writing.

  • Carol Townend8 months ago

    So sad to read this poem, and I hope things are better today.

  • Melissa Ingoldsby8 months ago

    A truly heart wrenching experience, i am so sorry 😢 for your pain here. As a parent I feel your pain

  • Tiffany Gordon 8 months ago

    I'm sorry to hear this; so glad that she is better.

  • Congratulations on your top story!

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Heartbreaking traumatic!!! 💕 & hugs!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Donna Fox (HKB)8 months ago

    MC, this was so heartbreaking and yet so well articulated!! Beautiful work and congrats on Top Story!!

  • JBaz8 months ago

    You captured a parents fear in a beautiful and loving way. Congratulations

  • KJ Aartila8 months ago

    Definitely heartbreaking - thank you for sharing.

  • Raymond G. Taylor8 months ago

    Heart breaking and powerful. Congrats on the TS. If this is a true story, I hope and wish all is well.

  • It is one of those phone calls a parent fears most. 💔 My heart and prayers go out to you and your family during this struggle. ~ Rob

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Oh my. Prayers and good wishes being sent your way. 🙏🤗

  • Gerald Holmes8 months ago

    This is heart wrenching, I pray for you and your's.

  • I pray for a full recovery. I can't imagine. You're one of my favorites on here. I wish I could do something other than just offer words...

  • Test8 months ago

    Here for you my friend.

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    Well wishes sent their way. I can’t imagine how challenging that is! 💚😔 Hang in there and we can only do what we can.

  • The Dani Writer8 months ago

    Heartrending! So sorry! Sending all the healing vibrations.

  • Test8 months ago

    OMG I am so sorry.

  • Andie Emerson8 months ago

    <3

Mother CombsWritten by Mother Combs

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.