Poets logo

A Muted Rainbow

By the Daughter of Two Marcel Marceau Proteges

By MaliaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Photo by Bob Martuch

Black,

White,

Black,

White:

Stripes.

It is the pattern of my childhood;

A way of life.

Only within good form is there freedom,

But with only freedom, there is no form.

The invisible becomes visible.

Mime is a counterpoint,

As are black and white stripes.

Invisible.

Visible.

Freedom.

Form.

Black.

White.

Some see the stripes as restrictive bars;

A world void of color and sound.

But that’s not what I’ve found.

When I wear the stripes,

I can be anyone.

I can create an object, a place, or the passing of time.

All I need are my stripes and my body to mime.

Am I muted? Yes.

Am I colorless? No.

For all hues are within black and white,

at least when speaking in terms of light.

Black is all colors being absorbed,

None reflected; Invisible.

White is no colors being absorbed,

All reflected; Visible.

Black and white stripes are...

A muted rainbow.

Perfect for the mute artist.

Perfect for the mime.

art

About the Creator

Malia

I write for challenges to challenge myself to write.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    MaliaWritten by Malia

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.