Poets logo

A mother unknown

She’s a whisper in the wind

By P. K. GaniPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - December 2023
17
A mother unknown
Photo by Sara Bakhshi on Unsplash

I hesitate to ask

Maybe it’s her

Are you my mum?

No I’m theirs

-

Where is mine?

Is she in that photo?

She’s in another country

Now the photo is gone

-

Why isn’t she here?

Like everyone else’s?

We journey through India

I wonder what she’s like

-

We’re greeted with tears

And long embraces

I’m led to a curtain

Behind which she stands

-

Do you speak English?

No. You just did

A few words in Panjabi

I’m happy with that

-

My cousin asks to play

We pass a man pointing

That’s the girl

Whose mum passed away

-

I can’t take that truth

At the tender age of five

I’ll stick with the pretence

Keep his words to myself

-

They’re trapped inside me

Seasoned with questions

But as time passes

So do those closest to her

-

I am her legacy

My daughter is mine

Through this tie

We’re forever intertwined

sad poetryheartbreakfact or fiction
17

About the Creator

P. K. Gani

I'm an avid reader exploring fragments of my imagination and revisiting moments in writing. I hope others enjoy what I piece together.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Avila Osinta 5 months ago

    Ahhhhh, Very emotional and Beautiful crafted poem!

  • Andrea Corwin 5 months ago

    This is a very emotional, finely crafted poem!

  • k eleanor5 months ago

    I must say this is a beautiful piece!!! I'm glad that I come across this. Congratulations and sending love! ❤❤

  • JBaz5 months ago

    Very beautiful. Congratulations

  • Kageno Hoshino5 months ago

    Woooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooow, so good

  • This tugged at my heartstrings. So poignant. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.