Poets logo

I won't be gone long

Torn between a romance and responsibility to a family left behind, who knows which side's the diversion, or if he'll ever pick at all.

By P. K. GaniPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
5
I won't be gone long
Photo by Fotografías con Limón on Unsplash

Driving down the freeway

In my 60's Chevrolet

Sweetheart though I love you

Tonight I gotta get away

Rae my good man called me

About all I left behind

Can't leave my folk this way

They can't hold onto the land

If you wait on just a little more time

One day I'll return to stay

Now aint that worth waiting for, my dearest René

vintageheartbreak
5

About the Creator

P. K. Gani

I'm an avid reader exploring fragments of my imagination and revisiting moments in writing. I hope others enjoy what I piece together.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Rowan Finley about a month ago

    Nice job!

  • Andrea Corwin 5 months ago

    Wow. Don’t need to say anything else! 👏

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.