Poets logo

A Monument in Memory

The home of the fairies and forest goblins

By Emily DickersonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
A Monument in Memory
Photo by K. Mitch Hodge on Unsplash

Laughing Waters separate the dock, the cove, and the clifftop castle

Peeking through the treetops to watch me bathe

In the same sun rays as those forever sealed in seared limestone

Before the azure sky, my eyes find desperate claws

Trees grazing their thick, green leaf tips against monumental walls

Yearning forever sealed in seared limestone

I stumble, I trip, I kick gravel out of my sandals

I wonder about the pebbles; fallen or stolen

From the mortar? Not quite forever sealed in seared limestone

Tourists traverse the tainted grounds summer after summer

Walls around the walls standing stronger and stronger every season

Protecting the history forever sealed in seared limestone.

Still standing, guarding the lake, though unvisited this past summer

I wonder if I will ever see it again, my beloved

Magical forest fantasy forever sealed in seared limestone.

Ha Ha Tonka State Park Castle, more than just ruins

Summer home, lakefront hotel, childhood adventure

And treasured memory forever sealed in seared limestone.

nature poetry

About the Creator

Emily Dickerson

Hopeful and young, full of love. From my heart high praises are sung. For this reason I am here: to love and serve and bring all souls near. <3

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Emily DickersonWritten by Emily Dickerson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.