Poets logo

A monster for the other

repeated cycles

By esther hopePublished about a month ago 1 min read
3

It's funny, how history repeats

Each time I'm fooled by deceit

The same type I keep on choosing

Different faces, same old bruising

I'm led to believe I'm their treasure

But it's only a fleeting pleasure

When I'm drowning in their lies

They never knew I could rise

Survival has become my art

From the depths, I chart

A course away from the shore

To rid myself of these monsters forevermore

The cycle must come to an end

No more swapping one for a friend

It's time to recognize the signs

And leave the past behind

So here I stand, empowered

My heart no longer soured

It's funny, how all this is not new

But I'm ready to start anew.

fact or fiction
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Margaret Brennanabout a month ago

    just wow. fantastic. each day brings new beginnings. love it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.