Poets logo

A monster

I was behind the mask

By Dnp_happyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
A monster
Photo by Zach Vessels on Unsplash

The sun sets the moon comes out. I finally get into bed to just toss and turn…..

My mind begins to scramble,my body becomes weak I feel as if it’s been a goddamn week…..

Back in the house I remember I had whatever I want. A new bed,a new room,new window shades even to a new name. I had whatever I wanted. A loving family that I never would’ve thought I would’ve had…….

These flashbacks come to haunt me and bring me to a place where I don’t want to go.Almost like someone grabbed me by the hand and is dragging me through the dark cave with spider webs,and a lake with alligators…..

I toss and turn thinking about how good I had it. But for some reason I needed to fuck it up…..

Sitting in ER I remember my dad saying what’s gotten into you? Idk I was so lost and just didn’t know what hit me…..

Day in day out I try to wrap my head around it but I just can’t. How was I so evil ? How was I so fucked up?

Just do me a favor and wash the dishes please that’s all we ask…… sure I say as I take dish by dish acting carelessly as I chip a dish here and there. Not giving a fuck about anything…..

These flashbacks haunt me like no tomorrow and it only creeps up on me when I want to go to bed. I feel as if I’m dead…….

Chanukah came and all i wanted was a new lifelike baby doll…. Which is what I got. From the outfits,to the blankets, to the accessories everything i wanted….

Is was one threat, one word, that destroyed everything in my power. I wish back then I wasn’t so sour…….

And so here I lay tossing and turning reminiscing about my past only to find out I was the monster behind the mask ……..

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Dnp_happy

Love to write wrote poetry when I’m in my deepest darkest moments…. ✍️

I want to help the world feel like they’re not alone ❤️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.